Google+ closing on 2nd April….

This is a temporary post, will delete after  some time.  But, I just wanted to share a quick note to all my blogging friends, I noticed recently when I shared a post on Google+ , that they have an announcement saying that they are closing  Google+ down due low usage.   I have copy pasted the message for you here.  But, please go to your google + site and do what is needed.

 

Shutting down Google+ for consumer (personal) accounts on 2 April 2019

30 January 2019

In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and the challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations. We want to thank you for being part of Google+ and would like to provide the next steps, including how to download your photos and other content.

On 2 April, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages that you’ve created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your album archive and on your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content. Just make sure that you do this before April. Please note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.

The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages and the album archive will take a few months, and content may remain throughout this period. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via the Activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ has been deleted.

From as early as 4 February, you will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events. See the full FAQs for more details and updates leading up to the shutdown.

If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting in early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body and photos for every community post in a public community. Learn more

If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-In button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but, in some cases, may be replaced by a Google Sign-In button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-In buttons. Learn more

If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by 4 February and from other sites by 7 March. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting on 2 April 2019. Learn more

If you’re a G Suite customer, Google+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon. Learn more

If you’re a developer using Google+ APIs or Google+ Sign-In, click here to see how this will affect you.

From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We’re grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication……

Categories: #Thoughts

4 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.